crinetics team

Scientific Advisory Board Members

David Clemmons, M.D.

Dr. Clemmons is the Sarah Graham Kenan professor of Medicine at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill School of Medicine and serves as a scientific and clinical development adviser for growth hormone related diseases. He has been a faculty member in the Division of Endocrinology in the Department of Medicine since December 1979 serving as chief of the Endocrinology Division for 17 years and as director of the Diabetes Center of Excellence for five years. Dr. Clemmons has also served on the Council of the Endocrine Society, in addition to being editor of Endocrinology, Molecular Endocrinology and Endocrine Reviews. One of his main areas of research has been clinical investigation of patients with pituitary diseases. These studies have focused principally on diagnosis and treatment of acromegaly and the therapeutic options for management of patients with growth hormone deficiency and hypopituitarism. He has published over 260 original scientific papers, including 82 that deal directly with diagnosis and management of these diseases. He has conducted several clinical trials and been the lead investigator in three registration trials for products that are available to treat growth hormone deficiency and acromegaly. He has served on multiple scientific advisory boards for biotechnology and major pharmaceutical companies. He has been a member the data safety and monitoring committee for 10 major clinical trials. He is the principle inventor on 17 issued patents and is the scientific founder of three biotechnology companies, including Vascular Pharmaceuticals which is currently conducting a phase 2 human trials for the treatment of diabetic nephropathy.

Anne Klibanski, M.D.

Dr. Klibanski is the director of the Neuroendocrine and Pituitary Tumor Clinical Center and chief of the Neuroendocrine Unit at Massachusetts General Hospital, and the Laurie Carrol Guthart Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. She is a clinical researcher who studies pituitary tumor pathogenesis and the impact that pituitary and hypothalamic disorders have on body composition, including low bone mass. Awards in recognition of her work have included The Endocrine Society Clinical Investigator Award and the British Trust Medal. She is the author of more than 350 peer-reviewed publications and has served on the NIH NIDDK Board of Counselors and on the Editorial Board of the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism. She is past-president of the Pituitary Society and serves on its board. She has been involved in leadership positions of many educational programs sponsored by the Endocrine Society, the Pituitary Society, and many patient advocacy groups to teach physicians and patients about pituitary tumors and neuroendocrine disorders. She has a B.A. from Barnard College and an M.D. from New York University School of Medicine.

Philip Harris, FRCP, Ph.D.

Dr. Harris joined our scientific advisory board in February 2019, bringing expertise as both a distinguished clinical endocrinologist and more than 16 years of leadership experience in industry in the fields of endocrinology, neuroendocrine tumors, and endocrine-related oncology. He currently serves as Chief Medical Officer of ITM Isotopen Technologien München AG and is responsible for providing clinical leadership to ITM’s radiopharmaceutical development platform. Prior to ITM, he was Vice President at Ipsen from 2007 to 2017, with leading roles in Scientific Affairs, Translational Sciences, and Medical Science. He was also Senior Director of Clinical Development at Pfizer from 2004 to 2007. Prior to Pfizer, he served as Director of Global Medical Affairs at Pharmacia from 2002 to 2004. Before moving to industry, he held an academic consultant appointment at King’s College Hospital, London in internal medicine and adult endocrinology. He holds a Bachelor of Medicine & Surgery and a PhD from the University of Wales.

Former Scientific Advisory Board Member

In Memoriam

Agnes Schonbrunn, Ph.D.

Dr. Schonbrunn was the founding member of the Crinetics Scientific Advisory Board and worked with us until her passing in June 2017. She was professor and vice-chair of integrative biology and pharmacology at the University of Texas Health Science Center Houston, School of Medicine. Dr. Schonbrunn was the first to identify somatostatin receptors functionally and biochemically and worked on somatostatin receptor structure, signaling, regulation, and pharmacology for over 30 years. She published over 110 widely cited scientific papers. In recognition of this body of work, she was awarded the Gerald D. Aurbach Award by the Endocrine Society and the Nicholas T. Zervas Lectureship in Pituitary and Neuroendocrine Disorders by Harvard University. She served on a number of study sections, on the editorial and advisory boards of a variety of international journals, including as an associate editor of Endocrinology. Dr. Schonbrunn served as president of Women in Endocrinology, as a member of the Board of Directors of the Pituitary Society, and as chair of the Publications Oversight Committee, the Awards Committee, and the Committee on Governance Affairs for the Endocrine Society. Agi was a friend to many of us and her thoughtful guidance, keen scientific judgement, and bright enthusiasm are sorely missed.